The AAP is a non-profit professional organization, founded in 1964.  Our purpose is to promote aviation psychology and related aerospace disciplines, and we target the following four areas:


Dissemination of Knowledge

We publish a newsletter several times a year to keep the membership informed of issues and events.  We promote the International Journal of Aerospace Psychology, and several members of the editorial board are affiliated with AAP.   All members receive access to the journal and are encouraged to publish and disseminate it.


Meetings and Publications

Each year we hold an annual business meeting as well as unofficial gatherings at relevant academic and professional conferences. This meeting is usually held during the week of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Annual Meeting, in the same city as that meeting.  In April or May of odd numbered years most association members attend the International Symposium on Aviation Psychology, organized by Wright State University.   Attendance typically includes academics, practitioners, and researchers from around the globe.  May 2019 is the next ISAP meeting.


Improved Education and Research

The association provides assistance for student attendance at the International Symposium on Aviation Psychology.


Application of Psychological Principles to Aviation Safety and Welfare
Our members work in a diverse range of aviation fields, including flight-deck design, pilot selection and training, aviation safety research, maintenance human factors, cabin safety, air traffic control, and accident investigation.




The Association President is elected annually, with elections held in September. The President appoints the executive Secretary/Treasurer, the Newsletter Editor and the Webmaster/Communications Director.


Current Officers
President:  Diane Damos

Executive Secretary/Treasurer:  Dennis Beringer
Webmaster/Communications Director:  Erin Bowen



Past AAP Presidents



2009-2017 Dennis Beringer
2006 Alan Hobbs
2004 Lori McDonnell
2002 Sherry Chappell
1998 Elizabeth Lyall
1996 Kathleen L. Mosier
1994 Sherry Chappell
1992 Sherry Chappell
1990 Robert North
1988 Robert P. Bateman
1986 Thomas M. McCloy
1985 John M. Reising
1984 John M. Reising
1983 Richard Jensen
1981 Mark Nataupsky
1979 John K. Lauber
1977 Jefferson M. Koonce
1976 Robert B. Besco
1975 Robert A. Alkov
1974 William E. Collins
1973 Samuel Karson
1972 Barb B. Cobb